WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

I Heart Fall September 27, 2009

Filed under: Chicken,Crockpot — WannaBe Chef @ 7:22 pm

I wish the weather could be like this all year long.  Just warm enough to leave the windows open but cool enough to wear jeans and my beloved hoodies.  The leaves are just starting to change colors.  Our driveway is full of acorns and chipmunks collecting them, which Ziggy has thoroughly enjoyed watching.  And all I wanna do is cook, and oddly enough, bake.  We’ll get to the baking later, though.  I thought today would be a great day to haul out the crockpot.  Seemed like a good idea, but then I remembered the love-hate relationship we have.  The stupid thing cooks in half the time (or less) than it should.  I could never leave something in there for 7-8 hours like a lot of recipes say.  I put frozen chicken breasts in it at 11 AM today, on low, and they were done by 3 PM…. uughh! 

Saucy Orange-Barbeque Chicken
Adapted from Pillsbury’s Money Saving Meals

3 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts (or bone-in thighs as the original recipe calls for)
3/4 cup chili sauce
1/4 cup orange marmalade
1 Tbsp brown sugar
1 Tbsp spicy brown mustard
1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
2 tsp Worchestershire sauce

– Place frozen chicken breasts in crockpot, season w/salt and pepper, cook until almost done… time depends on the crockpot!
– Drain excess liquid from crockpot 
– Combine sauce ingredients in small sauce pan, heat through
– Pour sauce over chicken, cook in crockpot 10-15 more minutes

IMG_0393

The verdict:  As you might expect, my chicken was a bit dry, but the sauce was quite yummy.  It was a nice balance and sweet and heat.  I think it would have worked just as well in the oven too.  Stay tuned for my baking adventure that I’ll write about tomorrow!

 

One Response to “I Heart Fall”

  1. Ashley Says:

    I attempted the taco soup on Saturday, and even though I’ve made it before, I couldn’t remember the ingredients when I was shopping… so I just kind of guessed. Well, that was the least of my problems! I ended up making it with venison instead of ground beef or turkey, which tasted reaaaallly good… but I used a full 2 pounds (I should have just gone with one pound like you said, but I wasn’t sure how much it would cook down…) and it was more like a very meaty chili (or a stoup in RR terms). Oh- and I forgot the seasoning and ranch packet so I mixed it in after I added all the canned ingredients. Yeah… not exactly the taste I had hoped for. It was pretty good, but the venison taste overpowered everything. I don’t think Josh was impressed because he didn’t look too excited when I said I’d make it again, the “right way.” Oh well!!

    I’m excited to hear about your baking adventures!


Leave a Reply

