WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

3 days worth! September 26, 2009

Filed under: Beef,Bread/Muffins,Fish,Side dish — WannaBe Chef @ 8:16 pm

This will be a bit of a catch-up post.  The other night I made a nice meal that’s not really blogworthy, but I can never resist posting more pictures!  There were no recipes involved but it was pretty good.  Following the previous two nights of meatless meals, Wayne was requesting a big hunk of meat.  This was just some top round I cooked with onions.  I boiled some potatoes and rutabagas, mashed them together, and topped with a brown gravy mix.  Not the most gourmet meal, but it did the job!

IMG_0370 

The next night, I made one of my favorites.  This Cashew Chicken from a few weeks back.  I remembered why it’s a favorite 🙂 

Today has been a great fall Saturday.  Wayne got the green light from the doc yesterday to start walking in regular shoes (instead of the monster air boot he’s been wearing for the past month!).  He’s been hobbling around and even vacuumed today!  It’s been awhile since I’ve had any help around here, so that was nice.  Then we made a short trip to the orchard because I needed some honeycrisp apples.  We also got some pumpkin butter which I’m looking forward to having on my bagel with cream cheese in the morning!  I know this is a ridiculous picture to post, but come on, they’re like the best apples ever! 

IMG_0389  

Tonight’s dinner was a bit of a mish-mash of things.  I had some salmon in the freezer and leftover carrots in the fridge.  And of course I still have a mountain of jalapenos, so I found a corn muffin recipe that incorporated them.  It turned out to be a pretty great meal! 

Corn and Jalapeno Muffins
*Recipe can be found HERE
I followed the recipe exactly except that I baked them for 17 minutes instead of 20 because I can’t stand dry corn muffins!  They turned out perfectly.   

IMG_0382

IMG_0384

 

Honey Mustard Balsamic Salmon
* My own creation.  As always, measurements are approximate!

4 portions of salmon
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 Tbsp brown mustard
1 Tbsp honey
Salt and pepper

– Place salmon on foil-lined baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray
– Combine remaining ingredients in small bowl, brush mixture over salmon
– Roast salmon at 400-425 until fish flakes with fork

Roasted Carrots
Simply toss sliced carrots with olive oil, salt and pepper (or whatever seasonings you want).  Roast on foil-lined baking sheet at 400-425 until softened and slightly browned.  I could seriously eat a whole pan of these things!  

IMG_0385

 

Leave a Reply

