WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Ziggy’s home!!! September 11, 2009

Filed under: Sandwiches — WannaBe Chef @ 6:45 pm

After a whole lot of indecisiveness, guilt, and tears, we took Ziggy to get declawed.  He stayed at the vet for the past two nights.  It literally was one of the most difficult things I’ve ever had to do!  I feel a little ridiculous being so attached to a cat… but really, the guilt I felt was overwhelming, and I missed the little guy so much!  So, I just had to leave work early today to go pick him up.  The first thing he did when he got home was run to his scratch pad and try to scratch it with his poor feet!!  Then he started to bleed a little bit 😦  We had to put him in the back room because all he wants to do is play, attack, and run around.  Not good.  I guess the pain meds must still be working.

Anyway, enough about my son.  Onto dinner.  I wanted something simple and quick since I knew I would be cat-sitting most of the night.  I’ve had this recipe bookmarked in my Kellogg’s book for awhile now, and I still have that huge box of Rice Krispies sitting around. 

 

Ham and Cheese Monte Cristos
The Kellogg’s Cookbook
* I halved the recipe and made 3 whole sandwiches

5 cups Rice Krispies
3 large egg whites (I used 2 egg whites)
3/4 cup skim milk
1/4 tsp salt
12 slices day-old white or wheat bread
Dijon mustard
Sliced ham (I used turkey)
Sliced cheese
Melted butter or olive oil

– Place rice krispies in zip-lock bag and crush with rolling pin to make a medium crumb.  Transfer to a shallow dish.
– Preheat oven to 450.
– Line baking sheet with foil and spray with cooking spray.
– Place egg whites, milk, and salt in shallow bowl.  Whisk until foamy. 
– Make your sandwiches with the meat, cheese, and mustard.
– Dip each sandwich into the egg mixture, coating both sides.  Quickly press into the cereal crumbs, coating both sides well.
– Place sandwiches onto prepared baking sheet.  Give a quick drizzle of butter or olive oil to each one.
– Bake for 15 minutes, without turning, until crisp and golden brown.  (I actually caved and flipped them for the last 2-3 minutes).
– Serve with additional mustard on the side if desired.  (I mixed Miracle Whip with brown mustard and served on the side).

IMG_0293

The verdict:  Crispy and melty and good! 

 

Leave a Reply

