WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

A classic, lightened up September 10, 2009

Filed under: Chicken,Favorites,Meatless,Pasta — WannaBe Chef @ 8:13 pm

Who doesn’t like fettucini alfredo?  (Except for you, mom!)  I enjoy it, but can only remember one time that I’ve ever ordered it in a restaurant.  It’s just so bad for you… I mean come on… butter, heavy cream, cheese, white pasta… you can’t get much worse.  This recipe originally came from a college friend a few years back.  I remember going to her apartment to study for a dreaded organic chemistry exam and walking in to the sweet smell of roasted garlic.  She had just finished her dinner… a low-calorie version of fettucini alfredo.  I had to have the recipe.  Not too long after, I made it myself.  I lived alone at the time, and I remember wanting to run out and tell someone how freakin’ good my dinner was!  It does take a little time to make this, but it mostly consists of waiting for the garlic to roast and sauce to thicken.

 

Lower-Calorie Fettucini Alfredo
* Recipe from my friend Michelle, unsure of original source

2 heads garlic
salt, pepper, olive oil
8 ounces fettucini noodles (I used whole wheat spaghetti)
1 cup chicken stock
1 cup fat-free half and half
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese (I probably dumped in a little more than this)
chopped parsley (I used dried)
I also added some diced, cooked, and seasoned chicken

– Preheat oven to 450
– Cut off about 1/2 inch from top of garlic heads to expose cloves.  Place heads in center of large piece of foil.  Drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Wrap up sides of foil around heads to make a packet.  Roast for 45 minutes and let cool.
– Cook the pasta
– Squeeze the garlic into a medium/large saucepan with the chicken stock and turn on heat.  Puree with immersion blender.  Simmer the mixture (or gently boil if you’re impatient like me) until reduced by half. 
– Add the half and half and simmer until thickened slightly, then add the parmesan.  Simmer for a little while longer until thickened (maybe 5 minutes?). 
– Add the cooked pasta (and chicken if using) and toss together.
– Garnish with parsley. 

IMG_0291

The verdict:  Well I pretty much already said how much I like this dish.  But I’m going to say it again… THIS IS SO FREAKIN GOOD!  I can’t believe I’ve waited this long to make it again.  The house will probably smell like garlic for a couple days, but it’s totally worth it!  Go make this!

Some tips/notes:
– You may need to use smaller pieces of foil to wrap around base of each garlic head so they stand up better.

– I didn’t have an immersion blender in college, I think I just smooshed the garlic the best I could with a wooden spoon or potato masher.  It takes on a whole new taste after roasting, so getting a big chunk in your bite of pasta isn’t bad!  Or you could probably use a regular blender or food processor.

– The sauce will seem like it’ll never thicken, but once you add the cheese and gently boil/simmer it a little, it starts to come together.  Make sure you stir continuously after the cheese is added so it doesn’t stick or burn.  After you add the pasta, everything sticks and comes together nicely.

 

Leave a Reply

