WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Goodies from the garden August 31, 2009

Filed under: Beef,Meatless,Side dish,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 8:28 pm

Along with the peanut butter cake, my mom brought us a ton of stuff from my grandpa’s garden on Saturday… tomatoes, potatoes, green peppers, jalapenos, carrots, and cucumbers!
IMG_0264IMG_0265
Needless to say, the week’s meals had be altered a little bit in order to use all this stuff.  When I saw this entry on The Way the Cookie Crumbles, I knew it would be a good way to make a dent in all those tomatoes and potatoes.

Potato Tomato Tart
I didn’t have the recipe printed, so I just made it based on what I remembered.  
IMG_0275IMG_0278    

I also made this meatloaf, using part of a garden onion.  I’ve never followed a recipe to make meatloaf… I usually just throw some things together like my mom always did.  But this recipe intrigued me because it had stuffing mix and Worchestershire in it… and who doesn’t like that??

Busy-Day Turkey Loaf
     The Kellogg’s Cookbook 

1 cup stuffing mix
1/2 cup milk
2 egg whites
1/4 cup finely diced onion
2 tsp Worchestershire sauce
1 pound lean ground turkey (I used beef)
salt and pepper
1/4 cup ketchup
2 tsp brown sugar
1 tsp Dijon mustard

– Combine stuffing mix with milk in small bowl and set aside 5 minutes until soft
– Preheat oven to 350
– Line loaf pan with foil and lightly spray with cooking spray
– Add egg whites, onion, and Worchestershire to the stuffing mix and stir to combine
– Add mixture to the turkey with salt and pepper
– Put into pan, packing down
– Make 4 diagnonal lines across top of meat with sharp knife
– Mix the remaining ingredients together and pour over meatloaf
– Bake for about 45 minutes or until cooked through and browned

IMG_0277IMG_0281 

 

One Response to “Goodies from the garden”

  1. Ashley Says:

    OMG those tomatoes look To-Die-For!! YUM!


Leave a Reply

