WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

How have I never eaten… August 30, 2009

Filed under: Meatless,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 7:41 pm

eggplant??  I think I’ve always been intimidated by it, or thought it looked gross, or heard horror stories about the weird texture.  Well, I bought 2 small eggplants at my work farmer’s market.  Honestly?  Because they were just so cute (and cheap!).  They’ve been sitting in my fruit bowl for 3 days now, and they were starting to look a little wrinkly.  The pressure was on, I had to use them tonight or else I’d have to trash them.  And trashing them, to me, would mean defeat!  So I set off on a google search for a recipe.  I figured eggplant parmesan was a good place to start for an eggplant virgin like me.

Eggplant Parmesan
– Very loosely based on this recipe

Adjustments I made:  Of course, I only had 2 small-ish eggplants.  I also didn’t do any measuring.  I just used this recipe for the list of ingredients, and more importantly, the reviews.  They provided information crucial to making this dish better.  For example, the whole salting/sweating thing… which I never would have known to do otherwise.  I also cooked the eggplant slices for longer than 5 minutes on each side, as one of the reviewers did.
 

This wasn’t the easiest or most pretty dish to photograph, since it’s basically a big mess of sauce and cheese.  I almost didn’t post a pic… almost… 🙂

IMG_0272

The verdict:  This dish was a little time consuming, but I was busy doing other things while it baked.  I wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I did.  The texture of the eggplant was neither spongy or mushy.  It was just… good!  Even more surprising, Wayne liked it… a lot!  And not one word was said about its meatlessness!!

 

One Response to “How have I never eaten…”

  1. Mom Says:

    Meatlessness…is that a word?


Leave a Reply

