WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Summer on a plate August 28, 2009

Filed under: Meatless,Pasta — WannaBe Chef @ 9:31 pm

It’s Friday and I have random food items that must be used.  I have corn on the cob from the farmer’s market and beautiful heirloom tomatoes from my coworker, Erin.  So I decided we would be having another meatless dinner (sorry, Wayne!).  The pasta salad was my own creation, and I have to say, it turned out pretty well!

Tomato Basil Pasta Salad
My own creation… I apologize for the lack of an actual recipe here. 

You will need:
Pasta – I used ditalini, not quite a whole pound.  Orzo would be good too.
Tomatoes, diced – heirloom if you can get ’em!
Fresh basil, minced
Feta cheese, crumbled
Olive oil
Balsamic vinegar 
Salt and pepper

What to do:
Cook the pasta and drain.  Combine with tomatoes, basil, and cheese.  In a separate bowl, make a simple balsamic vinegarette.  I didn’t measure anything but would estimate it was 1 part vinegar to 2 parts oil.  Pour the vinegar into the bowl first, then stream the oil in slowly while whisking.  Season with salt and pepper.  Pour over the pasta and toss to combine. 

IMG_0255

The verdict:  I’m lucky there were any tomatoes left for the salad, since I kept “sampling” as I cut them.  These things were so ridiculously good, and each variety had a flavor all its own.  Combined with all the other ingredients… perfect!!  Oh, and the corn was amazing too 😉

 

Leave a Reply

