WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

My nose is still running… August 24, 2009

Filed under: Chicken — WannaBe Chef @ 7:10 pm

Well, I did it again… waited until the last day to do everything around here.  After the complete and utter torture that was mowing the lawn, I did some laundry and cleaning, then spent almost 2 hours getting groceries.  I came home, put everything away, baked a cake (more on that tomorrow!), and made dinner.  I’m pooped.  So this recipe came from one of those cute little books you impulse-buy while you’re waiting in line at the store.  This book is packed full of easy and cheap recipes… you’ll definitely be seeing more from it in the near future.
 

Buffalo Chicken Casserole
from Pillsbury’s Money Saving Meals with 74 Recipe Cards

1/2 cup uncooked regular long-grain white rice (I used 1 cup of uncooked instant rice)
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into thin strips
2 medium stalks celery, thinly sliced (1 cup)
1 can (14.5 oz) stewed tomatoes, undrained
1/2 cup buffalo wing sauce (of course I used Frank’s)
1/4 cup blue cheese dressing (I used ranch)
I also used a little crumbled feta on top

-Cook rice as directed on package
-Heat oven to 350
-Heat oil in large skillet, add chicken and celery.  Cook 5-7 minutes until chicken is cooked.
-Stir in tomatoes and hot sauce
-Spray 8 inch casserole dish with cooking spray
-Spoon cooked rice into dish
-Spread chicken mixture over rice (do not stir)
-Bake 25-30 minutes or until hot in the center
-Drizzle dressing over top (I drizzled dressing over individual serving along with some feta)

IMG_0245

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The verdict:  Kind of looks like a pile of slop, but it tasted pretty good.  You may have figured this from the title… but this stuff was HOT.  Wayne enjoyed the mouth-scortching.

Just some notes– the celery was still crunchy, so next time I would slice it extra thin.  I also might undercook the rice slightly, since it was a little on the soft side after it cooked in the oven in the liquid (maybe that’s why the recipe doesn’t call for instant rice, ha).

 

One Response to “My nose is still running…”

  1. Mom Says:

    I’m thinking the feta doesn’t need to be there…looks good otherwise!


Leave a Reply

