WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Oh, sweet weekend. August 15, 2009

Filed under: Beef,Breakfast — WannaBe Chef @ 7:15 pm

Last night, as I sat on my butt doing absolutely nothing, I was thinking… I should be mowing the jungle outside or starting the laundry or unloading the dishwasher or coming up with next week’s dinners… something…  because  if I don’t, I’ll probably end up squeezing all the domestic duties into one day.  And then I was thinking… this is just like when I was a kid, in school, and waited until Sunday to do all my homework.  And then I remembered how much Sunday sucked when I did that. 

So, I decided to get a bulk of the usual Sunday duties done today.  We had to start out with a lazy Saturday breakfast though 🙂  See pics below (and click them to make bigger!), since the picture settings and I aren’t getting along.  Wayne had bacon, eggs and toast.  I had turkey bacon, an egg, and 1/2 slice of cheese on a whole wheat sandwich thin, mmm! 

Now it’s about 7:00 PM.  I’ve mowed the jungle, planned the week’s dinners, and gone grocery shopping.  Dinner is done and so are the dishes… woot woot!  Another new recipe was had.

 

30-Minute Shepherd’s Pie
–  “Cooking ‘Round the Clock” by Rachael Ray

2 lbs potatoes, such as russet, peeled and diced
salt and pepper
1 Tbsp olive oil (I omitted)
1 3/4 lbs ground beef or lamb (I used 1 lb lean ground beef)
1 carrot, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp flour
1 cup beef broth
2 tsp Worchestershire sauce
1/2 cup frozen peas
2 Tbsp sour cream or cream cheese
1 egg yolk
1/2 cup cream (I used milk)
1 tsp paprika
2 Tbsp chopped parsley

  • Boil potatoes in large pot of water until tender (about 12 minutes)
  • Start the meat in a large skillet, season w/salt and pepper
  • Add carrots and onion, cook about 5 minutes, stir frequently
  • In a separate, small skillet, cook the butter and flour together, 2 minutes
  • Whisk in broth and Worchestershire, cook to thicken gravy about 1 minute
  • Add gravy to meat mixture and stir in peas
  • Drain potatoes and place in bowl.  Combine sour cream, egg yolk, cream.  Pour mixture over potatoes and mash until almost smooth. 
  • Preheat broiler.  Fill small glass casserole dish with meat mixture.  Spoon potatoes on top and sprinkle with paprika.  Broil until evenly browned.  Sprinkle with parsley and serve. 

 

The verdict:  Well, in usual Rachael Ray style, the prep of this meal was kind of hectic and required a TON of pans, bowls, and utensils.  Also, it took 40-45 minutes from start to finish for me to make this… but whatever, I must be slow 🙂  Nevertheless… pretty darn good stuff here.  My only thoughts are that the potato layer needed some salt, and I would have preferred a tad more of the flavorful gravy.  You could definitely take the Sandra Lee way out and use pre-made gravy and instant potatoes if you wanted an even easier version.

 

Leave a Reply

