WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Something new. August 13, 2009

Filed under: Chicken,Side dish — WannaBe Chef @ 8:09 pm

Gotta try everything once, right?  I’ve always wanted to try polenta (so exotic, right??).  And this dish also called for arugula, something else I’ve never had (a big ‘Thank You’ to Erin who gave me some arugula fresh out of her garden! :-)).  I saw this recipe in my “Eating Clean” magazine, and the picture looked so good, I just had to try it…

 

Arugula Polenta with Chicken
Ingredients:
4 chicken breasts (boneless, skinless)
3 3/4 cups chicken broth (basically 2 cans)
1 1/3 cups polenta or course cornmeal
4 cups arugula, chopped
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
1 medium tomato, diced

Instructions:
–  Season the chicken with salt and pepper, cook in skillet until brown and cooked through.
–  While chicken is cooking, bring broth to boil in medium saucepan.  Add polenta in thin stream, whisking constantly.  Return to boil, then reduce heat to simmer, cover and cook until polenta is tender (about 8-10 minutes).  If it seems too thick, add more broth.
–  Remove from heat, stir in yogurt and arugula.
–  Serve with sliced chicken and top with tomatoes (I also added some green onions).

IMG_0173

 

The verdict:  Hmmmm.  I think I was expecting the polenta to be like a liquid corn muffin or something. I tried to like it, I really did.  Maybe it was a texture thing… I wasn’t expecting it to be so thick (and I definitely added more liquid).  The chicken and crunch of the tomatoes and green onions definitely saved it a little.  Oh well, I think the picture turned out awesome!

 

One Response to “Something new.”

  1. Ashley Says:

    That picture looks like it’s straight out of a foodie magazine!


Leave a Reply

