WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Yep, another new one August 11, 2009

Filed under: Chicken,Favorites — WannaBe Chef @ 6:54 pm

I think the hardest part of blogging is coming up with the title of the post.  For some reason, I always feel like it should be witty or funny or something…. but I got nothin’.  Today was long and busy and tiring, and I almost just said screw making dinner… but I sucked it up, pulled the rock-hard, frozen chicken out of the freezer, and got to it…

Cashew Chicken
–  Recipe from “Great Food Fast” (From the Kitchens of Martha Stuart Living)

Ingredients:
1.5 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch cubes
1 Tbsp cornstarch
salt and pepper
2 Tbsp veg oil
6 garlic cloves, minced (I only used about 3 cloves, 6 just seemed like sooo much)
8 scallions, white and green parts separated, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 Tbsp rice vinegar
3 Tbsp hoisin sauce
3/4 cup raw cashews, toasted (I used the roasted, salted kind from the metal can)

  Toss chicken with cornstarch until coated, season with salt and pepper.  I completely forgot to do this step, oops.
–  Heat 1 Tbsp oil in large, nonstick skillet.  Cook the chicken until browned.  The actual recipe says to cook half the chicken, transfer to a plate, then cook the other half… I thought that was a little unnecessary.
–  Add the remaining oil, garlic, and white part of the onions to the pan.  Cook/toss until chicken is cooked. 
–  Add the vinegar, cook until evaporated (about 30 seconds).
–  Add the hoisin sauce and 1/4 cup water.  Toss until coated. 
–  Add the green part of the onions and cashews.  Toss to coat.  Serve over rice (I used brown rice). 

 IMG_0164 

The verdict:  I’m gonna keep it short – well worth it, flavorful, and damn good! 

 

 

 
 
 

3 Responses to “Yep, another new one”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Yum! I might have to try this! Here’s the recipe for the orzo:
    http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/garlic-and-cheese-orzo/ (It’s from Rachael 🙂 )

    I’m going to link to your blog, too!

  2. […] next night, I made one of my favorites.  This Cashew Chicken from a few weeks back.  I remembered why it’s a favorite […]

  3. […] Chicken Pasta Cashew Chicken Bourbon Chicken Vegetable Lo-Mein Asian Turkey Meatballs Fried Rice Almond Sesame Turkey Tenderloin […]


Leave a Reply

