WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Another new recipe August 10, 2009

Filed under: Chicken,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 7:16 pm

I didn’t intend to have a soup-like dinner two nights in a row, but sh!t happens.  Yesterday, I was making the meatballs ahead of time for this soup, intending to cook them and have them all ready for Weds night.  However, then I actually read the recipe and saw that the meatballs are supposed to be thrown into the boiling broth, raw.  Oops.  Can’t have raw chicken meatballs sitting in the fridge for too long… SO, the Wedding Soup had to be bumped up on the schedule!

Italian Wedding Soup
– Recipe from “Eating Clean” Magazine

Ingredients:
1/2 lb ground chicken
1 medium carrot, grated
3/4 medium onion, grated
1 cup bread crumbs
1 clove garlic, minced (I used the stuff from the jar)
1 Tbsp fresh basil, minced (I used dried)
1/4 tsp dried oregano
4 egg whites (1 for the meatballs, 3 for the soup)
6 cups chicken broth (I used my stash of homemade broth :-))
10 oz fresh or frozen spinach (I used frozen)
Salt and pepper to taste
2 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese (I used more like 3-4 Tbsp)
I also added some Ditalini-shaped pasta, about 1/4 – 1/3 cup

Instructions (tweaked, based on what I did):
1. Make the meatballs… and set aside some time, get a helper, or do it the day before, because it takes awhile!  Oh, and I got really tired of grating the onion, so I just chopped the rest of it really small.  Mix the chicken, carrot, onion, bread crumbs, garlic, basil, oregano, and 1 egg white.  I found that the chicken was quite sticky and needed a lot of bread crumbs to hold it together.  Form the meat into about 50-60 tiny, bite-sized meatballs.

IMG_0151

2. In medium stockpot, add broth and bring to a boil.  Add the pasta.  Drop meatballs in, a few at a time.  Simmer for 5 minutes or until meatballs are cooked and pasta is al dente.  Add spinach and reduce heat.  Season with salt, pepper, and of course a couple dashes of Frank’s!

3. In medium bowl, whisk 3 egg whites until frothy then add the parmesan.  Stir mixture into soup and cook until egg whites are done.  Remove from heat.

Essential last-minute addition:
So I decided to make some croutons at the last minute, and they turned out to almost be the star of the show.  
–  Cube up 2 pieces of wheat bread and put onto baking sheet.
–  Drizzle with olive oil, salt, and garlic powder.
–  Bake at 400 until crisp and browned, about 10 minutes I suppose. 
–  Top hot soup with croutons and more parmesan.

The verdict:  I enjoyed this soup, but then again, I’m not that picky 🙂  Wayne was honest and said it was “OK” but not his favorite.  Looks like I’ll be having some more for lunch tomorrow, and mom will be getting an extra large bowl added to the freezer collection!  The croutons were surprisingly good and had the chewy-yet-crispy texture of the best croutons in the world – the pumpernickel ones at Ruby Tuesday, mmmm. 

P.S.  If anyone can tell me how I can insert a picture (such as the meatball pic) and NOT have to insert it again with the gallery at the end of the post, I would be oh-so-grateful!

 

 

Leave a Reply

