WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Back with beef! August 9, 2009

Filed under: Beef,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 7:25 pm

Yes, I realize I haven’t posted anything for a few days now.  I have been cooking, but I’m not about to post the sandwiches, Hamburger Helper, chicken nuggets, and tater tots we’ve been eating!  Ssshh!!  Apparently the Super Nintendo marathons have inspired some childish childhood meals 🙂 

Anyway, I’ve finally planned my next week of dinners… it gets harder and harder to come up with things and get all the groceries, all the while trying to make sure I use everything and re-invent the ingredients into new meals.  I HATE wasting food!  

So here’s the first meal of the week, Wayne’s request out of a Rachael Ray cook book.

 

Beef and Watercress Dumpling “Stoup”
– Recipe from “Cooking Round the Clock” by Rachael Ray 
Perfect for a steamy, hot 95-degree August evening 😉

Ingredients:
2 lbs. beef sirloin, trimmed (I used 1.5 lbs which was more than enough)
2 Tbsp. veg oil
4 slices bacon, chopped (I used turkey bacon)
2 medium onions, chopped
4 ribs celery, chopped
2 fresh or dried bay leaves (I omitted)
4 sprigs fresh thyme or 1 tsp. dried
2 Tbsp. flour
1 cup dry red wine (I omitted)
1 rounded Tbsp. spicy brown mustard or grainy Dijon
1 quart beef broth
1/4 tsp. liquid smoke (I omitted)
salt and pepper, to taste
1 box biscuit mix (5 or 6 oz) (I used Jiffy mix and followed the recipe on the box)
1 cup chopped watercress (I omitted because Walmart sucks and didn’t have any)


Method:
Add oil to large pot/pan over high heat, add meat.  Sear until caramelized, 2 minutes on each side.  Remove from pan, tent with foil.  Reduce heat and add bacon, cook a few minutes, then add the onions, celery, bay and thyme.  I added a little more oil since turkey bacon doesn’t render much fat.  Stir and cook 5 minutes.  Sprinkle in flour, stir, and cook another minute.  Whisk in wine and mustard, scraping up pan drippings.  I just added the broth and mustard in together and skipped the wine.  I also added about 1/2 cup of water to account for the liquid from the missing wine.  Cover and bring to a boil, boil about 2 minutes.

Make biscuit mix and add the watercress, if using (I’m sure any fresh herb or even spinach would be good here, too).  Add meat back into the pan.  Add liquid smoke, salt and pepper (I only added pepper).  Drop large spoonfuls of biscuit mix onto the surface of the stew and cover the pan.  Cook until dumplings are plump and cooked through, about 8 minutes.  Serve hot

 

The verdict:  …all that onion and celery, I thought I was about to make Thanksgiving stuffing for a minute.  Anyway, this stuff was pretty darn tasty.  Even without the wine, liquid smoke and other stuff I omitted, the dish had deep flavor and tasted like it had been cooking all day (which would make Rachael proud, I’m sure).  However, you might want to know that it took a tad longer than 30 minutes!

 

Leave a Reply

