WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Dinner turned breakfast. August 4, 2009

Filed under: Breakfast,Meatless,Side dish — WannaBe Chef @ 8:31 pm

So somehow my food blog turned into a “Wayne update” blog.  Haha oh well.  Today was my first day back at work.  After waking up approximately 5-6 times last night, I wasn’t too excited about getting back into the routine.  However, I will say it was sort of a nice break.  Wayne was banished to the upstairs today… I packed him a nice cooler with lunch, drinks, and snacks so he wouldn’t be tempted to not-so-gracefully man the stairs on crutches.  Tonight I got home to find a flower arrangement AND an Edible Bouquet had been delivered from various coworkers.  After various clean-ups and getting Wayne all set up with some Donkey Kong… I finally made some dinner:  Turkey Kielbasa with Cheesy Zucchini Frittata and fruit.  After it was all plated, I realized.. Hey, this is pretty much breakfast…

 

Cheesy Zucchini Frittata
Recipe from random Dietitian magazine
Of course I adapted the original recipe, cuz that’s what I do 😉

Ingredients:
2 medium-ish potatoes, peeled and sliced thin
2 Tbsp milk
3 eggs, beaten
2 Tbsp olive oil (or just swirl some in the pan, who wants to dirty the measuring spoons for oil…)
1 small zucchini, chopped
1/2 cup shredded asiago cheese (I used parmesan)


–  Preheat oven to 375.
–  Put the spuds in a bowl and cover with water.  Cook in microwave until done, about 6-8 minutes.  The thinner you slice ’em, the faster they cook!
–  Drain then mash the spuds with fork or potato masher and mix in the milk.  Of course I just dumped some in…. it was prolly more like 3-4 Tbsp…
–  Let cool for a sec, stir in the eggs.  I also seasoned liberally with salt, pepper, Frank’s (duhhh).  I thought it was odd the recipe didn’t call for any seasoning at all.
–  Sautee the zucchini in the oil in a medium-sized, oven safe skillet; season some more.    Sautee just 3-4 minutes until slightly tender (they’ll cook more in the oven).
–  Add the potato mixture to the skillet, stir around a little bit.  
–  Put skillet in oven, cook about 7-8 minutes until set.
–  Cover with cheese, cook another few minutes until browned.  I switched the oven to broil to get the cheese nice and bubbly. 
–  Slide out from pan onto cutting board, cut into wedges. 
 

 

The verdict:  This recipe could be altered in countless ways.  I plan on making this again and playing with the seasonings, adding different things like onions, spinach, turkey bacon, cheddar cheese, fresh herbs… the possibilities are endless.  This dish kind of reminded me of the breakfast bake my mom always made on Christmas morning.  Speaking of my mom, have I ever mentioned how much I LOVE my Calphalon pans she gave us for the wedding??  This is the first time I’ve used them in the oven… the frittata slid out like butter and not a morsel stuck to the pan.  Oh, the simple pleasures in life… 🙂 

 

4 Responses to “Dinner turned breakfast.”

  1. Terri Says:

    Yummm, tonight’s dinner/breakfast sounds fantastic. And, I love how you talk about your mom, she sounds like a wonderful woman!

  2. Rebecca Says:

    Yummm I’m so jealous of your Edible Arrangement! How nice of your co-workers. 🙂 My old boss sometimes stops by the Edible Arrangement store in the morning and buys containers of fruit made from the scraps of their arrangements. So good.

    Also, you’re such a good wife. How cute are you… 🙂

  3. […] garlic powder).  The possibilities are endless… as far as ingredients go.  (Check out another easy fritatta I made way back […]


Leave a Reply

