WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

A classic August 2, 2009

Filed under: Meatless,Side dish — WannaBe Chef @ 7:46 pm

Tonight’s meal was a classic recipe of my mom’s.  The smell of it cooking brought me back to my childhood just a little, awww.  Plus, my mom came down for a visit to see the cripple and shower him with gifts, which included our antique Super Nintendo!  Woot woot for Mario Cart and Donkey Kong!  Anyway, so this was Wayne’s last meal before his surgery tomorrow.  I have to say, the steak was crappy and cheap, but mom’s recipe was good as usual.  Here it is:

Mom’s Broccoli Cheese Bake
2 10-ounce bags frozen broccoli, thawed
1 cup dry, uncooked instant rice (I used brown rice, but I think this is one of those recipes that you just have to use white rice in, the brown rice just never seems to cook all the way.)
1 can cream of mushroom soup
8 oz jar Cheez Whiz (I think mom must have used more when she made it…)
3 Tbsp minced onion
1 Tbsp melted butter

–  Combine all ingredients
–  Place in greased casserole dish
–  Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until bubbly and browned
–  This dish is also good with some leftover chicken mixed in.

Mmmm Mmmm good!

 

2 Responses to “A classic”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Oh good lord Amanda – this is taking me back to when you would cook for ME. Man how I miss those days…lol. I still don’t have anyone to peel my mangoes for me!! 😀 This blog looks awesome though and I’ll be saving some of your posts for when I get inspired to try cooking. Love you bunches!

  2. Ashley Says:

    Mmmmm…. Terri’s recipes and the Super NES w/ Mario Kart. What more could you want from life?


Leave a Reply

