WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Pizza for my crippled hubs July 30, 2009

Filed under: Turkey — WannaBe Chef @ 6:40 pm

Well, not long after last night’s burrito blog, I received a phone call from Wayne.  I instantly knew from his voice that something was wrong… he said “I think I broke my ankle.”  It was the last softball game of the season, and he unsuccessfully slid into second.  Our night was spent in the ER.  3 1/2 hours later, his broken fibula and torn ligaments had been twisted back around where they belong, wrapped in plaster and bandages, and we were home.  At least the crutches go up to 6’6″!  Poor guy is gonna be out of commission for awhile.  Tomorrow we find out when the surgery will be… 

Since my little workaholic is already beyond miserable, I decided to throw together a pizza packed full of meat for him…  it’s not really a blog-worthy meal, but since I have nothing more to do than be Wayne’s pseudo-nurse… here it is!

Pizza by Request
Ingredients:
Pre-made whole wheat pizza crust
Jar of pizza sauce
Toppings (I used turkey sausage, turkey pepperoni, mushrooms, red onion, green olives, and 2% milk mozarella cheese)

Sautee the sausage, mushrooms, and onions with pizza seasoning, garlic powder, salt and pepper.
– Build the pizza.  Bake at 350-375 till the cheese is browned. 
– Serve to the cripple.  Chase with Gatorade and scheduled dose of Percocet. 

 

One Response to “Pizza for my crippled hubs”

  1. Erin Says:

    Hi, your site looks great, the pictures are good quality and your comments make me laugh! Sorry to hear Wayne’s injury is so bad, it sucks. I just thought you should know – criple is acutally criPPle:)
    Have a good weekend! Erin


Leave a Reply

