WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

My first post! July 29, 2009

Filed under: Fruit,Meatless,Side dish — WannaBe Chef @ 12:17 am

Ok… so I’ve been reading food blogs lately like it’s my job.  So I figured, why not try making my own??  I love to cook and try new recipes, and this is a great way to keep track of them.  Not gonna lie though…. this is all a little overwhelming!!  I mean, I’ve done the whole LJ and Myspace thing.. but this is a whole different world… we’ll see how it goes!  I’ve been cooking like crazy lately, but unfortunately this is the first thing I’ve taken pictures of.  So here goes….

Roasted Pineapple Salsa (source: Today’s Diet & Nutrition magazine)

1 fresh pineapple

1 red pepper, diced

1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

1/2 cup red onion, minced

2 Tbsp. jalapeno pepper, minced

1 Tbsp. white wine vinegar (I used plain white vinegar)

1 tsp. olive oil

1 tsp. hot sauce (I used Frank’s)

1 tsp. salt

I also added some lime juice

Peel, core, and slice the pineapple.  Grill until browned.

Dice pineapple into small pieces, you should get about 2-3 cups.

Mix all ingredients, serve immediately.

This salsa was refreshing and very summery!  I served it with wheat tortilla chips, but it would be really good with chicken or salmon too.  Next time I make this, I might add some diced tomatoes or black beans.  I also think it needs more heat… maybe use some canned jalapenos or more hot sauce. 

 

Leave a Reply

