WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

I can see how this can get addicting… July 29, 2009

Filed under: Meatless — WannaBe Chef @ 7:47 pm

Still figuring out this blog thing… but having fun along the way!  I think my favorite part is taking the pictures.  I’ve always secretly thought food styling must be the sweetest job ever.  Anyway 🙂  Tonight I made some veggie burritos inspired by my coworker Erin.  There’s not really a recipe… so here goes….

Veggie Burritos

Ingredients:

Burrito size flour tortillas
Beans (I used re-fried black beans)
Rice (I made some brown rice)
Veggies (I used zucchini, summer squash, and red onion.  Mushrooms or bell peppers would be good too) 
Shredded cheese
Red Enchillada sauce

Method:

– Sautee veggies in some olive oil, season liberally with cumin, salt, garlic powder or whatever seasonings you like.

IMG_0107

 

– Cook the rice and season liberally.  Cilantro would be good mixed in, but I didn’t have any.

IMG_0113

– Heat the re-fried beans and enchillada sauce.

– Build your burrito!  Top with sauce, more cheese, and a dollop of sour cream. 

The verdict:  I thoroughly enjoyed these.  Just make sure you season each “layer” well, or the final product will be bland.  Wayne’s reaction: “They’re alriiiight.”  He wished there was some meat in them, of course 🙂

 

One Response to “I can see how this can get addicting…”

  1. […] Erin originally introduced me to this method long ago.  Remember these burritoes from this really old post??  Yeah, that was before I figured out to make the pics big!  So yeah, basically you saute […]


Leave a Reply

