WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Camera Purge? May 15, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Salad,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 6:58 pm

Tonight I planned on bringing you another random post of all the foodie pics on my camera since my last post.  However, I have since discovered that my “camera purge” consists of only 3 pics… oops. 

That would be Stonyfield frozen yogurt with strawberries (and a sprinkle of Splenda) and a PB drizzle.  The fro-yo was just OK… too sweet for me.

This masterpiece was my breakfast yesterday.  The recipe comes from The Fitnessista.  I made a few tweaks, though.  This was sooo filling and GOOD!!  I loved the hint of nutmeg and vanilla, mmmm.  I will definitely be making this many more times :-)

Perfect Protein Pancake (serves 1)
based on recipe linked above

INGREDIENTS:
2 Tbsp whole wheat flour
1/2 scoop (14 grams) vanilla protein powder
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
pinch nutmeg
pinch salt
1 egg white
1/4 cup skim milk (you may need a little less, my batter ended up pretty thin)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 – 1 tsp chia seeds

INSTRUCTIONS:
-Whisk the dry ingredients, except the chia seeds, together in a medium bowl 
-Whisk in the wet ingredients to combine
-Cook on hot skillet coated in cooking spray.  While the first side is cooking, sprinkle exposed batter with chia seeds. (I made one huge pancake, but you could probably make 2-3 small ones.)
-Top pancake as desired.  Mine was topped with 1 sliced banana, 1/2 Tbsp PB, and 1/8 cup light syrup (total calories, with toppings = approx 327)

And finally, that was my boring lunch yesterday – leftover Taco Mac and a side salad of romaine, cukes, grape tomatoes, parm, pizza hummus and balsamic vinegar (no oil). 

I swear I will have a more exciting post tomorrow!  ;-)

 

One Response to “Camera Purge?”

  1. [...] under: Breakfast,Chicken,One dish meal,Soup — amsterwill83 @ 7:30 pm Today I had another protein pancake.  This time, I added a little less milk, so the batter was thicker and easier to manage.  I [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.