WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Fun April 25, 2010

Filed under: Life,Meatless,One dish meal,Potato,Products,Soup,Sweets,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 7:00 pm

Hello, lovepies.  A couple fun things have happened since we last “talked.”  Let’s share… and see how many times I can say “fun”…

1.  I was pleasantly surprised to see one of my food pics shown over on Chocolate Covered Katie in a pizzert shout-out post.  How fun!  My blog has never seen as much as action as it did yesterday from her linking to me! 

2.  I won another bloggie giveaway!  I can hardly believe my luck.  This time I won some really fun, reusable gift wrap over on Danica’s Daily.  Yaaay!   

3.  Wayne and I wandered over to the next town to the mall.  He got his hair cut, I found some shoes for my sissy’s wedding, and best of all, we went to RED MANGO!!!!!!!!  I’m pretty sure I need to go there every.day.of.my.life now.  Not only is the frozen yogurt low calorie, nonfat, and all natural, it’s freaking delicious, tart and creamy… omgggg.  Wayne’s is on the left: cocoa yogurt with yogurt chips, mango and raspberries.  Mine is on the right: Madagascar vanilla yogurt with coconut, blueberries and raspberries.  Mine was not bigger than Wayne’s, either, it’s just the camera angle!  :-)  Sooooo goooood. 

Later on, after our mall fun, we wanted to go out for dinner.  We usually eat out once a week, sometimes twice, usually on Friday or Saturday.  We didn’t know where to go, so after some googling, Wayne found an awesome place called Axel’s Bonfire in a nearby town.  Mom, Erin, anyone who wants to visit… we’re taking you here, it’s grrr-eat!  Unfortunately, no pics were taken (I’m still chicken and won’t take pics in public unless the situation is right… aka no one is around!).  I had the Summer Spa Salad and added seared Ahi tuna.  I also had a glass of Reisling.  Wayne had beer and the Jalapeno Popper Pizza – cooked in their famous woodburning stove.  Then we may have shared a giant, warm chocolate chip cookie topped with ice cream (against my better judgement!!).  Very good dinner, indeed. 

Tonight, I made a light dinner, for obvious reasons.  I just got my latest Rachael Ray mag, so that’s where the recipe came from.

Potato Leek Soup
Slightly modified, from Everyday with Rachael Ray, May 2010 issue, pg 74

INGREDIENTS:
1 pound Yukon Gold potatoes, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
5 leeks, white parts only, chopped (I used 3 leeks, make sure you wash ‘em REALLY good)
1/2 pound zucchini, sliced (about 1 medium zucchini)
2 tsp Salt (I used 1 tsp and also added pepper and garlic powder)
5 cups water (I used 2.5 cups water and 2.5 cups chicken stock)
Reduced fat sour cream or Greek yogurt
Chives (I used parsley)

INSTRUCTIONS:
- Add the potatoes, leeks, zucchini, water and seasonings to a boil.  Lower heat and simmer until veggies are tender (about 20-30 minutes).  Let cool slightly.
- Blend soup with immersion blender or with regular blender (in batches).  Refrigerate until chilled.  Serve with sour cream or yogurt and chives.  (We actually ate the soup hot).

This was just about the easiest soup I’ve ever made.  It was a little bland, so I jazzed it up with Frank’s and some homemade croutons (not pictured, sorry!).  I’m really surprised the recipe only called for salt and no other seasonings and water instead of broth.  Hmm, maybe it tastes different cold.  Anyway, this soup was very light and pretty tasty, but nothing spectacular.  Toodles for now!

 

3 Responses to “Fun”

  1. Red Mango sounds awesome! We have a place like that in St. Louis, it’s called FroYo, and they have the most amazing toppings EVER! I loooooove going there. :)

  2. Carrie Says:

    I want a Red Mango in Michigan!

  3. Danica Says:

    Congrats on winning – I can’t wait to see how you use your Furochic – it will be in the mail this week!

    YUM…now I want your Froyo!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.