WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Wedgies April 14, 2010

Filed under: Bread/Muffins,Breakfast,Meatless,Products — WannaBe Chef @ 5:55 pm

Once again, I have nothing to offer except some of today’s eats… many of which came in wedge form.

Breakfast was a “Breakfast Pizzert” creation that I saw over on Chocolate Covered Katie.  I followed the recipe exactly (I even busted out my food scale and measured it all in grams!).  I topped mine with more blueberries and some TJ’s PB that you will see below.  I had 2 pieces (1/2 the pan) and added some syrup after the pic was taken (needed some moisture!).  This was quite tasty, pretty much a thick pancake.   

Here’s the new PB I just opened.  It’s quite crunchy and tasty, but a little too salty.  It’s definitely no Naturally More!!  Sorry, TJ’s!

Lunch was another salad, so I thought I would spare you another picture of spinach, strawberries, salmon and feta on a plate! 

Dinner was yet another Rachael recipe.  I swear I’m gonna end up making everything in that little insert in the April 2010 issue.

Tortilla-Crusted Goat Cheese and Asparagus Quiche
Modified from Everyday With Rachael Ray, April 2010 issue (in the “Menu Planner” insert)

INGREDIENTS:
Four 7-inch whole wheat tortillas (I used three larger tortillas.)
10 asparagus stalks, trimmed and cut into 1-inch pieces
2 Tbsp olive oil (I used less.)
1/2 red onion, finely chopped (I used white onion.)
4 ounces sliced mushrooms (about 1 1/2 cups)
salt and pepper
One 4-ounce log goat cheese (I used feta instead.)
3 eggs
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

INSTRUCTIONS:
-  Preheat oven to 375.  In a greased 9-inch pie pan, overlap tortillas to make a crust.
-  Fill a large skillet about 1/3 of the way with water and bring to a boil.  Cook the asparagus for about 1 minute in the boiling water until crisp-tender.  Drain, rinse under cold water, pat dry.  (I skipped this step altogether and sauteed the asparagus with the onion and mushrooms.)
-  Wipe out the skillet and add the olive oil, heat over medium.  Then add the onion, mushrooms, salt and pepper.  Saute until golden, about 3 minutes.  Stir in the asparagus and season again with salt and pepper. 
-  Spread asparagus mixture over tortilla crust, the crumble the cheese on top.
-  In medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, yogurt, and more salt and pepper.  Pour mixture into the crust.  Bake until center is just set and slightly golden throughout – about 30 minutes.  Let rest for 10 minutes before cutting. 

This was quite good, as I expected.  The tortilla crust got kind of hard, and it was difficult to cut through, so I may have just picked it up and ate it like a slice of pizza, hehe.  That’s all for now, folks!

Oh, wait, I’m back!  Just had to post my evening snack cuz it was so purrdy – angel food cake, mashed strawberries and lite Cool Whip!  And note the cute polka dot plate I got at Target :-)

 

One Response to “Wedgies”


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.