WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Fight the beat. January 24, 2010

Filed under: Appetizer,Beverage,Breakfast,Life,Meatless,Ziggy — WannaBe Chef @ 8:56 pm

It’s Sunday, after 6 PM, and I have finally showered for the day.  I consider that an accomplishment, considering that I may have consumed half a fifth of vodka last night.  No, I’m not lying.  I told you there would be shenanigans.  :-)  Let’s start with the snacks… We had veggies with hummus and pumpkin bread that both escaped from the camera.  Then there was the star of the show…

Summer Corn Dip
Recipe
from Bakin’ and Eggs blog

Ingredients:
1/2 cup light sour cream
1/2 cup light mayo (I used real mayo)
2 cans Mexi-corn, drained
2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, grated (I used a little less than this)
1/4 cup green onions, chopped
1/4 cup red and green peppers, finely diced (I used all red peppers)
I also added some green chiles and Frank’s hot sauce

Directions:
Mix together and chill for at least 30 minutes before serving. Serve with corn chips – recommended Fritos Scoops. 

Omgggg this stuff was like crack.  It was really good with the Fritos, but we discovered it was delicious on celery too.  There wasn’t a drop of this left after the night was over.   

 
 
We ventured out to dinner and had amazing martinis and giant salads.  Family video was the next stop for a movie we never ended up watching, followed by liquor shopping.  We came back to mi casa and got our drink and ridiculousness on.
 
My favorite roommates from freshman year.  We take this same picture every “reunion.”  Looove these biotches!! 
 
 
Kelsey and I drank a lotttttt of these, while Lori and Erin enjoyed some wine.
 
 
We fought the beat….

fist-pumped like WHOA…

and taught ourselves the Soulja Boy dance.

Now watch me you...

crank dat soulja boooy.

As the night progressed, the drinks started looking more like this…

Vodka with a splash of cranberry

and Lori and Erin started to look more like this…

Wine buzz

Kelsey and I continued to be completely ridiculous.  The night (or should I say morning) ended with us on the floor with my SONNN…

Love him

The morning began with a massive headache and the feeling you get after getting off a really long boat ride.  After some H2O and Advil, I was able to pull breakfast together.  Not gonna lie, I was excited for this one (although my stomach… not so much).

Overnight French Toast
Recipe
from Beantown Baker blog who got it from somewhere else!

2 T butter, softened
12 – 3/4″ thick slices of bread
6 eggs
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1/4 cup sugar
2 T maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt

1/4 – 1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 – 1 1/2 cups maple syrup
Berries, Nuts, Whipped Cream, etc for topping as desired

Spread softened butter in a thick coating over a large rimmed (about 1″ sides) heavy baking sheet. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together eggs and sugar, add maple syrup, vanilla extract, and salt and whisk together. Add milk and continue whisking until well combined. Lay out bread slices on baking sheet. Pour milk mixture over the bread. Turn each slice, coating both sides. Cover the baking sheet with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

The next morning, preheat oven to 400 degrees. Bake French toast for approximately 10 minutes and then flip each slice of bread. Bake another 5-10 minutes, flipping again if necessary until both sides are golden brown and crisped.

Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve with warmed maple syrup and other toppings as desired.

Some changes I made:  I used skim milk, sourdough bread, and omitted the butter (I just sprayed the pan w/cooking spray instead).  I also added some cinnamon and cooked it longer than 20 minutes (not sure how long, I just cooked it till it was brown!) 

This was the perfect breakfast for having company (not to mention the perfect hangover food).  All I had to do was throw it in the oven and whip up some turkey bacon to have along side.  Hoooly crap this was soooo easy and tasted freaking amazing. 

Buttery, sugary, bacony, berrylicious plate of heaven.

I had an awesome time with my girls this weekend.  I really needed a night like this.  I’m so thankful we have all kept in touch and will continue to have our reunions.  In fact, Minnesota visits have already been discussed.  :-)

 

2 Responses to “Fight the beat.”

  1. [...] It was a big hit and everyone liked it a lot.  I didn’t take a pic, but you can go this post to see one, since I’ve made it before.  Saturday night, we went to another new [...]

  2. [...] my long weekend with mom and auntie:  Sunday.  We started out with a bang of a breakfast… Overnight French Toast.  This time, I used a loaf of multigrain bread that had sunflower seeds and honey in it (!!).  On [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.